top of page
  • Writer's pictureRobyn Cornick

Pretty Woman



NTS #110: They say beauty lies within ... and then there’s lashes, wigs, and Snapchat filters.

During the first 14 days of a woman’s menstrual cycle, there are eight days in which she is physically and mentally the shit. Her skin is glowing, her face is looking more symmetrical than normal, her energy is on tilt, optimism is woven with the daily mantra, and most of all her confidence levels have her strutting from corner to corner as if every sidewalk were her own private runway. I call this the “Pretty Woman” phase. For some strange reason, our bodies are chemically designed to make us feel like Beyonce on stage in front of a giant fan for eight glorious days.

Between October and November 2017, I began dating again. Dating in search of my forever man? Not at all. Dating to pass the time? Something more like it.


By this time, the lioness within me regained her footing and made a silent vow to turn heads humbly. Fascinated by my own beauty, I dared any man to attempt to tame the fire that burned wildly inside me. I was in a mental state that pertained to grabbing men by the balls unapologetically with just a smile and hair flip.

And it was working!

I had gotten back into the swing of my phone being blown up every so often due to a possible suitor. Depending on the dude, I either answered or left his ass on read. As you can see, with this uptick in self-confidence came my lack of attention when it came to taking men seriously. My life was slowly getting back on track and, as usual, I viewed a man as just added perks. I didn’t really care whether he stuck around or not. Just don’t let the door hit you where the good Lord split you. Ya dig?


I was too busy falling in love with myself all over again, and of course with me being a bit vain I fell in love with my looks more than anything else. I was taking care of myself again. I would take an entire weekend to get “me” back in order. I was going for bi-weekly nail appointments, washing and deep conditioning my hair, styling my hair for the week, and doing my weekend skin care routine. None of this was needed, but it felt as if I were recharging this battery that fueled the beauty I possessed.

AKA, it made me feel prettier.

I already knew what God had given physically, and I was okay with my natural look. Acne scars and all. However, a little grooming never hurt anyone. Monthly waxing, bi-weekly haircare routines, face and skin regimens, manis, pedis, and — just to treat yourself real, real nice — a monthly trip to the spa. But that’s only if you really want to be extra.

By the time I adjusted my new wig, added some mascara, filled in my eyebrows, and glossed my lips in the morning, I would feel “normal pretty.” Meaning I didn’t need to add too much to get the results I wanted. I’m fine with the basics. So what if I colored in a few things and wore a damn hat to protect my natural hair? A slay is a slay.

Period.

You can thank social media for intensifying beauty standards. Platforms like Instagram are the perfect apps to share with others things like your #OOTD or your #Beat face on a Thursday morning. Going outside looking like a naked mole rat in the face isn’t cute anymore when there are too many opportunities to take really cute selfies. Which is also why I don’t mind adding some lashes, foundation, concealer, a little contouring for the gods, and a surprising glint of highlight every once in awhile. Truth be told, I’d be on a completely different level of attractiveness.

Watch ya man, Shorty. Watch. Your. Man.


Am I alone in this thought, though? What girl doesn’t feel like a modern-day Aphrodite after a successful makeup session? Have you ever noticed how beauty YouTubers look in the camera once they’ve finished their looks? I bet you mimicked those same poses in the mirror yourself. It’s just something about looking back at yourself perfectly done up that makes a woman feel warm on the inside. She takes a moment or two to admire her perfect winged eye, glittered cheekbones, well contoured nose, and beautifully colored lips. In that second, she gives herself her own stamp of approval and grants herself the gift of sharing her success with others.

And don’t get it twisted.

This is all done for personal enjoyment. I’ve made it my personal duty to get done up on any level FOR ME. Starting with the hours of YouTube tutorials on how to complete different looks all the way down to my choice in nail colors. This is not for some knuckle-headed boy who won’t even appreciate it on a level that a fellow makeup lover would. No man is going to ask me, “Is that Ruby Woo or a dupe?” unless he’s playing in makeup too. My Pretty Woman phase, full beat or not, is for my own pure enjoyment. However, what girl doesn’t like a little recognition...and a compliment or 4?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page